Digital Sculptures in the Ehrenhof

August 22 2021 – February 20 2022

Augmented Reality Biennale, Skulptur und Bearbeitung Manuel Rossner, Foto Katja Illner © NRW-Forum Düsseldorf

Augmented Reality (AR) is one of the most exciting presentation formats for contemporary art today. From August 22, 2021, the NRW-Forum Düsseldorf will host the world’s first AR Biennale. Twenty international artists are currently developing site-specific works that will occupy the surrounding Ehrenhof and Hofgarten. Additional works will be shown at satellite projects in Cologne and Essen.

Augmented reality is one of the most important topics of the future. More and more companies are launching new technologies, but it is not only digitally networked, smart factories, the medical field, and the entertainment industry that are making use of the possibilities offered by the digital augmentation of reality; many contemporary artists have also discovered this fusion of analog and digital worlds and the manifold opportunities for interaction.

With this globally unique project, the NRW-Forum Düsseldorf is offering a prominent platform to augmented reality art. The AR Biennale will create a new outdoor digital sculpture park every two years. Visitors can explore the Hofgarten and the Ehrenhof with their own smartphone or tablet. Digital artworks will be inserted into the real environment and become visible on the visitor’s device through an app. No other exhibition format is better suited to these times.

Twenty international artists have been invited to create new site-specific works. The works explore topics such as nature and physicality in the digital world, sustainability, and new forms of communication with a wide range of opportunities for interaction and playful approaches.

Participating Artists

Artists participating in the first biennale include

Studio Above&Below
Jeremy Bailey
Banz & Bowinkel
Gabriel Barcia-Colombo
Cibelle Cavalli Bastos
Tim Berresheim
Louisa Clement
Deutsche Oper am Rhein, Düsseldorf
Lucie Freynhagen

Shawné Michaelain Holloway
Lauren Lee McCarthy

David Lobser
Andy Picci
Sarah Rothberg
Manuel Rossner

MengXuan Sun
Theo Triantafyllidis
Lola Zoido